archive



email



who?

twenty fifth june | eight thirty post meridiem

Stripes on her eyes when she walks slow but her hair falls down when she go go go

I'm sick of the way I look. The adjective is necessary since I don't have a look, or looks. It's been at least a year, more like a year and a half, since I bought new clothes. This is unusual: first I had no money, then I (semi-purposefully) had no life, and casual dress is acceptable at work, so I've had no reason to. Normally I like to at least attempt dressing in a somewhat careful way, for the simple reason that I like it when other people do so. Being attentive and imaginative and maybe somewhat romantic in the way someone presents themselves is a big draw for me; in the shallowness sweepstakes, it trumps looks more often than not. I don't mean being fashionable; stylish, rather. Basically an agglomeration of the adjectives above: careful, attentive, imaginative, and with a preference for more perennial or "timeless" elements, if that word means anything when it comes to personal appearance. This isn't a matter of life and death; I'm not a snob; it's just an attractive extra.

So anyway, my stylish manner has been distinctly sloppy, distracted, and, umm, autistic for the last year or so. It's easy to cheat in fall and winter; I wear a lot of black (tres goth casual) and my puddle-proofed leather trainers and a shiny bag some insist is a man-purse. Summer is harder, especially when the temperature spikes and it becomes difficult not to break out the shorts. I hate shorts, but I've yet to find a decent alternative when it's 95 degrees out and I'm not being hit with the proper peer pressure. It's been at least three years since I bought a new pair, and have to leave the top button undone on most of them (see what I mean here?). My t-shirts are virtual rags and every white one has at least one black tea stain on it.

One of the things that started me thinking about this was how much I liked the daily update on Anat's Attire. She's a stylish woman and I thought it'd be fun if I could do the same, but also laughed about what I'd actually say, and how often I'd say minor permutations on the same thing as the wearable parts of my wardrobe dwindle. But fuck it, Diaryland is about nothing so much as self-indulgence, and hopefully making others suffer for it. So here goes.

Insilico's Raiments: baby blue polo shirt with yellow stripes and a fire-breathing dragon where the alligator should be. Baggy jeans and leather trainers. White socks and blue boxers with a button fly.

Fairly plain, good enough for a work day in Oly but if I was actually someplace I cared about I'd be less pleased. Or I'd probably be just-right pleased; the creeping dissatisfaction is more a result of it being representative of how drab and conservative I dress now rather than a minor preppy-ish exception. And how much of it has to do with shoes? I'm not sure I realized until now how urgent and key shoes are to women's wardrobes. You all vary your foot wear from day to day! That's amazing! When was the last time I wore something other than shmancy trainers, aside from formalish situations? A long time, that's when! Wow, I've learned a lot during this entry; I hope you've learned something too.

What else? My hair is its natural dusty blonde, but that's mostly because it got pretty damaged so I let it grow out. Usually it's a variant of red or emineminem peroxide. Cut short; I've never grown it longer than halfway into my eyeballs, which is when it starts giving me headaches. I used to wear earrings but took them out about three years ago. No other jewelry. No tattoos, but I'm going to get one before I leave on my trip. I'm going to buy some new clothes too, what do you think of Wranglers? I have a fuck of a time finding jeans I like, but the peg leg is starting to win me over. I've also got to take advantage of any Texas longhorn photo ops that may arise. Can I wear my swanky leather trainers with them though? Will I have to invest in new, probably uncomfortable footwear? Or should I bring them into the indiestyle fold, topping them with a poofy vest and mesh cap? Remember where I made a distinction between "stylish" and "fashionable" above. Thank you.

That's another important point: sometimes what's most appealing about style is when it's inadvertent. Like, say, a random person, one none of us knows, certainly not me, has a fondness for poofy sleeves. They look kinda ridiculous but they're so innocent and sincere and committed in their enthusiasm it's impossible not to love them.

This is fun; I like chatting about stuff like this. Contrary to this entry, I like talking about other people's styles more than my own, but this is enough for now - now it's time for YOU to tell me what YOU'RE wearing. Right now. Come on, click the comments thingy and indulge me.


~ paradise | progress ~




dusting for vomit

Site Meter