archive



email



who?

october twentieth | eleven post meridiem

*

A long, fun, exhausting week. I love Vancouver BC and Portland; I loathe Seattle and Olympia.

Vancouver is such a beautiful city, and unlike the others in this corner of the continent it's actually LARGE, predominantly urban, continuous, MULTICULTURAL and integrated (unlike Seattle, which is one of the most segregated cities you could ever visit). It confuses me though; it's so huge that there must be something going on there, but... what? The two biggest happenings we could locate were shows by Jurassic 5 and the fucking String Cheesy Diarrhea Incident. J5 was sold out, but we walked by the venue, and there were people all up and down the street practically begging for tickets. Please, somebody, fill me in on whatever hip underground channels you need to swim in in order to find the fun, because the people up there don't seem to be having enough of it. Even decent bars are scarce (and packed at 8 pm!) THIS IS THE LAND OF BOB AND DOUG MACKENZIE PEOPLE! CHRIST!

I wanted to dip my fingers in anecdotes to share, but all I could find were margarita salt tins and moist towelettes. Besides, my toes hurt. But it's good to be back, and I believe the 1.5 week absence has refreshed my diarying enthusiasm. A demain, mes poulets sans chapeaux.


~ paradise | progress ~




dusting for vomit

Site Meter